Understanding Latches in MySQL

Understanding Latches in MySQL

In MySQL, latches are used to protect shared data structures and ensure consistency in the database. They are used by the storage engine to synchronize access to shared resources such as data pages, buffers, and other internal structures.

There are two types of latches in MySQL:

  1. Spin Latches: These latches use a busy-waiting mechanism to acquire a lock. When a thread wants to acquire a spin latch, it repeatedly checks if the latch is free, and if it is not, the thread waits for a short period of time and then retries. This process is repeated until the thread acquires the latch. Spin latches are used for short-term and low-contention locks.
  2. OS Latches: These latches rely on the operating system’s synchronization mechanisms, such as semaphores or mutexes, to acquire a lock. When a thread wants to acquire an OS latch, it makes a system call to the operating system to acquire the lock. This type of latch is used for longer-term and higher-contention locks.

When a thread acquires a latch, it holds the lock until it is finished with the shared resource. Once the thread releases the latch, other threads can acquire the latch and access the shared resource.

InnoDB uses a combination of spin latches and OS latches to synchronize access to its internal data structures. By using different types of latches in different situations, InnoDB is able to balance the needs for performance and scalability.

It’s important to note that Latches do not affect the data integrity or consistency, but they help in maintaining proper coordination between the threads and CPU cores to prevent race conditions and other synchronization issues.

Python script for Monitoring spin latches and os latches in MySQL:

This script will print out the total number of waits and spins for both spin latches and OS latches. You can use this script as a base and add more code to it, like to write the data to a log file, visualize the data with graphs, or send alerts when certain thresholds are met.

To monitor latches for MySQL locks, you can use the SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS command. This command will display a section called “LATEST DETECTED DEADLOCK” that will show information about any deadlocks that have occurred on the server. You can also check the “TRANSACTIONS” section to see the current status of all transactions, including any that are locked. Additionally, you can enable the general query log and slow query log in MySQL to log all queries and potentially long running queries that may be causing locks.

Lock Modes in MySQL Explained

In MySQL, there are several types of lock modes that can be used to control concurrent access to data. These lock modes include:

  1. Shared (S) lock: This lock allows multiple transactions to read a piece of data simultaneously, but it prevents any of them from modifying it until the lock is released.
  2. Exclusive (X) lock: This lock prevents any other transaction from accessing the data until the lock is released. It is used for write operations, such as INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE.
  3. Intent (IS, IX) lock: These locks are used to indicate a transaction’s intention to later acquire a shared or exclusive lock on a piece of data. They are used to prevent other transactions from modifying the data before the transaction can acquire the actual lock.
  4. Gap (Gap) lock: This lock is used to protect “gap” ranges between index records, and it is used in situations where a range of rows must be locked but not all of them
  5. Next-Key (Gap X) lock: This lock is used to protect both a gap and the index record following it. It is used in situations where a range of rows must be locked and the range includes the last row in the index.
  6. Automatic (Implicit) lock: These locks are automatically acquired by the storage engine when a statement is executed and they are not explicitly specified by the user.

It’s important to note that the locking behavior in MySQL can be influenced by the storage engine used. For example, InnoDB uses row-level locking, which means that locks are acquired on individual rows, rather than entire tables. MyISAM on the other hand uses table-level locking, which means that locks are acquired on entire tables.

About Shiv Iyer 452 Articles
Open Source Database Systems Engineer with a deep understanding of Optimizer Internals, Performance Engineering, Scalability and Data SRE. Shiv currently is the Founder, Investor, Board Member and CEO of multiple Database Systems Infrastructure Operations companies in the Transaction Processing Computing and ColumnStores ecosystem. He is also a frequent speaker in open source software conferences globally.